2016 NFL Coach of the Year Odds

More than four months before the start of the season, the oddsmakers at Sportsbook.com released their odds for the Coach of the Year Award. We should point out that Sportsbook.com is known for taking weeks to pay out their clients, but these odds provided an interesting insight into the top Coach of the Year candidates for this season.

Last year, Carolina’s Ron Rivera captured the league’s highest coaching honor for the second time in three seasons. Prior to the start of the 2015-16 season, Rivera was available at +4000 at 5Dimes and. New England’s Bill Belichick was the preseason favorite at +800.

Early on Wednesday (12/28) morning, Bovada updated these odds with Dallas Cowboys head coach, Jason Garrett, listed as the odds-on favorite. Led by their dynamic rookies, the Cowboys have vastly exceeded preseason expectations and currently boast an NFC-best 13-2 record. Before the season, Garrett actually had much shorter odds of being the first head coach fired (+800) than he did of being named Coach of the Year (+2800).

Over this past weekend, BetOnline posted updated odds for the Coach the Year Award with Garrett still listed as the odds-on favorite at -200. Belichick, who’s seeking his fourth career Coach of the Year Award, has the second best odds at +600.

The table below compares the preseason NFL Coach of the Year odds at Sportsbook.com with the latest odds at BetOnline, Bovada, and TopBet.

Coach Team BetOnline (1/30) Bovada (12/28) TopBet (11/29) Sportsbk (8/29) Sportsbk (4/29)
Jason Garrett Dallas Cowboys -200 -200 +150 +2800 +3000
Bill Belichick New England Patriots +600 +750 +400 +900 +500
Jack Del Rio Oakland Raiders +700 +750 +275 +1500 +2500
Dan Quinn Atlanta Falcons +700 +400 +1600 +8000 +8000
Andy Reid Kansas City Chiefs +750 +750 +1600 +1400 +1800
Field N/A +1400 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Mike Tomlin Pittsburgh Steelers N/A N/A N/A +1500 +1400
Chip Kelly San Francisco 49ers N/A N/A N/A +5000 +10000
Pete Carroll Seattle Seahawks N/A N/A +2000 +1600 +700
Mike Zimmer Minnesota Vikings N/A N/A +3300 +700 +1600
Gary Kubiak Denver Broncos N/A N/A +5000 +4000 +3000
Jay Gruden Washington Redskins N/A N/A +5000 +6000 +10000
Field N/A N/A N/A +500 N/A N/A
Doug Pederson Philadelphia Eagles N/A N/A N/A +3000 +10000
John Harbaugh Baltimore Ravens N/A N/A N/A +3500 +4000
Gus Bradley Jacksonville Jaguars N/A N/A N/A +1500 +3000
Jim Caldwell Detroit Lions N/A N/A +1600 +8000 +10000
Todd Bowles New York Jets N/A N/A N/A +2500 +2000
Hue Jackson Cleveland Browns N/A N/A N/A +4000 +10000
Sean Payton New Orleans Saints N/A N/A N/A +5000 +4000
Chuck Pagano Indianapolis Colts N/A N/A N/A +4000 +3000
John Fox Chicago Bears N/A N/A N/A +5000 +5000
Bill O'Brien Houston Texans N/A N/A N/A +5000 +6000
Mike McCarthy Green Bay Packers N/A N/A N/A +1200 +1000
Rex Ryan Buffalo Bills N/A N/A N/A +6000 +7500
Adam Gase Miami Dolphins N/A +1200 +2500 +3500 +10000
Dirk Koetter Tampa Bay Buccaneers N/A N/A N/A +7500 +6000
Jeff Fisher Los Angeles Rams N/A N/A N/A +7500 +10000
Mike Mularkey Tennessee Titans N/A N/A N/A +7500 +10000
Bruce Arians Arizona Cardinals N/A N/A N/A +700 +600
Marvin Lewis Cincinnati Bengals N/A N/A N/A +3000 +1200
Mike McCoy San Diego Chargers N/A N/A N/A +10000 +10000
Ron Rivera Carolina Panthers N/A N/A N/A +1100 +450
Ben McAdoo New York Giants N/A N/A +1600 +5000 +10000

The section below was originally published on April 29, 2016

Historically this award has not necessarily been given to the head coach of the best team, but rather the team with the biggest turnaround from the previous season. For that reason, I think that Oakland’s Jack Del Rio (+2500) is one of the more intriguing options.

As I’ve stated on several occasions, I’m all-in on the Raiders this year. In just his second season, Derek Carr emerged as one of the league’s top young quarterbacks, throwing for nearly 4,000 yards with a 32:13 touchdown to interception ratio. They also have one of the league’s most dynamic receivers (Amari Cooper) and pass rushers (Khalil Mack).

We have already seen early sharp money taking the over on Oakland’s win total, which indicates that I’m not alone in my adoration of the silver and black. I’m expecting a significant regression from the Broncos with Mark Sanchez behind center, which makes the Raiders a sleeper candidate to win the AFC West. Considering that the Raiders haven’t made the playoffs since 2002, Del Rio would likely receive heaps of praise if Oakland wins their division.

Which players do you think are offering value? Do you think that Belichick can win in spite of Brady’s absence? Can Riverboat Ron take home this award for the third time in four seasons? Please leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

Have any questions for the staff at Sports Insights? Utilize our live chat to speak with a customer service representative or e-mail us at help@sportsinsights.com.

The following two tabs change content below.

David Solar

David Solar is the Content Manager at Sports Insights. He specializes in sports betting analytics and creating data-driven betting systems. He can be reached directly at david@sportsinsights.com or on twitter at @TheDavidSolar.

Latest posts by David Solar (see all)

No Comments Permalink

Say something

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with a grey bar.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>