2017 Wooden Award Odds

2017 Wooden Award Odds

The John R. Wooden Award is given annually to the most outstanding player in college basketball. This prestigious award, which is named after UCLA’s legendary head coach, was first given in 1977. The selection ballot is announced prior to the NCAA tournament and the voters consist of 1,000 sportswriters and broadcasters.

Last season, Oklahoma guard Buddy Hield edged out Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine. The table below displays every winner since the award’s inception 40 years ago.

2016Buddy HieldOklahoma50.1%45.7%88.0%255.72
2015Frank KaminskyWisconsin54.7%41.6%78.0%
2014Doug McDermottCreighton52.6%44.9%86.4%26.771.6
2013Trey BurkeMichigan46.3%38.4%80.1%
2012Anthony DavisKentucky62.3%15.0%70.9%
2011Jimmer FredetteBrigham Young45.2%39.6%89.4%
2010Evan TurnerOhio State51.9%36.4%75.4%20.49.26
2009Blake GriffinOklahoma65.4%37.5%59.0%22.714.42.3
2008Tyler HansbroughNorth Carolina54.0%0.0%80.6%22.610.20.9
2007Kevin DurantTexas47.3%40.4%81.6%25.811.11.3
2006J.J. RedickDuke47.0%42.1%86.3%26.822.6
2005Andrew BogutUtah62.0%36.0%69.2%20.412.22.3
2004Jameer NelsonSaint Joseph's47.5%39.0%79.2%
2003T.J. FordTexas40.1%26.5%82.0%153.97.7
2002Jay WilliamsDuke45.7%38.3%67.6%
2001Shane BattierDuke47.1%41.9%79.6%
2000Kenyon MartinCincinnati56.8%28.6%68.4%
1999Elton BrandDuke62.0%N/A70.7%
1998Antawn JamisonNorth Carolina57.9%40.0%66.7%
1997Tim DuncanWake Forest60.8%27.3%63.6%20.814.73.2
1996Marcus CambyMassachusetts47.7%0.0%70.0%
1995Ed O'BannonUCLA53.3%43.3%78.5%
1994Glenn RobinsonPurdue48.3%38.0%79.6%30.310.11.9
1993Calbert CheaneyIndiana54.9%42.7%79.5%
1992Christian LaettnerDuke57.5%55.7%81.5%21.57.92
1991Larry JohnsonNevada-Las Vegas66.2%35.4%81.8%22.710.93
1990Lionel SimmonsLa Salle51.3%47.7%66.1%26.511.13.6
1989Sean ElliottArizona48.0%50.4%84.1%
1988Danny ManningKansas58.3%34.6%73.4%24.892
1987David RobinsonNavy59.1%100.0%63.7%28.211.81
1986Walter BerrySt. John's (NY)59.8%N/A70.2%2311.1N/A
1985Chris MullinSt. John's (NY)52.1%N/A82.4%
1984Michael JordanNorth Carolina55.1%N/A77.9%
1983Ralph SampsonVirginia60.4%N/A70.4%19.111.71
1982Ralph SampsonVirginia56.1%N/A61.5%15.811.41.2
1981Danny AingeBrigham Young51.8%N/A82.4%24.44.84
1980Darrell GriffithLouisville55.3%N/A71.3%22.94.8N/A
1979Larry BirdIndiana State53.2%N/A83.1%28.614.95.5
1978Phil FordNorth Carolina52.7%N/A81.0%20.82.1N/A
1977Marques JohnsonUCLA59.1%N/A62.1%21.411.1N/A

The Greek posted odds for the 2017 Wooden Award on Wednesday morning, which was an interesting development since Bovada posted AP Player of the Year odds last week. Frank Mason and Caleb Swanigan opened as co-favorites (+200), which represented a major divergence from the AP Player of the Year odds. Although Mason opened as the favorite for that award, Swanigan opened as a 16/1 long shot (which I highlighted as an excellent value).

The table below displays the 2017 Wooden Award odds at The Greek.

Frank Mason III  Kansas+200
Caleb Swanigan  Purdue+200
Josh Hart  Villanova+300
Lonzo Ball  UCLA+500
Malik Monk  Kentucky+650
Nigel Williams-Goss  Gonzaga+1200
Luke Kennard  Duke+1200
Ethan Happ  Wisconsin+2000
Josh Jackson  Kansas+2000
Johnathan Motley  Baylor+2500
Justin Jackson  Kansas+3000
Lauri Markkanen  Arizona+3000
Dwayne Bacon  Florida State+3000
Dillon Brooks  Oregon+3000
Joel Berry II  North Carolina+5000
Grayson Allen  Duke+5000
Markelle Fultz  Washington+6000
Melo Trimble  Maryland+6000
Bonzie Collins  Notre Dame+6000
Field  N/A+800

This prop takes low limits and features an insanely high hold percentage (45.4%) but, unlike the odds at Bovada, it’s encouraging to see “the field” listed as an option.

Don’t forget to visit our free college basketball odds page for the latest odds, public betting trends, injuries and more.

If you have any questions for the staff at Sports Insights, please contact our customer service department at 877-838-2853, email us at help@sportsinsights.com or utilize our live chat to speak directly with a representative.

David Solar

David was the Content Manager at Sports Insights. He has since moved on to greener pastures.

1 Comment
  • Simon Thomas
    04/06/2017 at 9:03 pm

    Hey, dude if you are going to do a graph that the whole nation can see at least get the players name right. Bonzie Colson not Collins. Please change that.


Post a Comment