2014 NFL MVP Odds

2014 NFL MVP Odds

We’re now three weeks into the NFL season and, although Peyton Manning remains the favorite to repeat as MVP, there’s been a great deal of shake up. Adrian Peterson, who opened the year at +3000 to win the MVP, was removed as an option for bettors. Likewise for Ray Rice (+30,000), Robert Griffin (+3000) and Jamaal Charles (+6600).

On the other hand, a few players have emerged from relative obscurity to become legitimate MVP candidates. Following a woeful 2013 campaign Matt Ryan opened the season at +5000 to win this prestigious award. However, after throwing for 965 yards and 7 touchdowns in his first three games, Ryan has soared to the fifth best MVP odds at +1400.

Peyton Manning, who passed for 5,477 yards and 55 touchdowns en route to his fifth career MVP award last season, opened as a +350 favorite to repeat. Although the Broncos lost to the Seahawks in their Week 3 Super Bowl rematch, Manning has looked spectacular once again and has crept ever so slightly to +300.

It’s interesting to note that since the award was first handed out in 1957, more quarterbacks have won this award (37) than all other positions combined (21). Included in those other winners are 18 running backs, 1 defensive tackle (Alan Page in 1971), one place kicker (Mark Moseley in 1982) and one linebacker (Lawrence Taylor in 1986).

As hard as it is to believe, no wide receiver or tight end has ever been named MVP. Although Jerry Rice was named the MVP by the Pro Football Writers Association in 1987, he lost out to John Elway in the Associated Press vote. Considering no receivers have ever won the award, it’s interesting to see both Calvin Johnson (+2500) and Julio Jones (+4000) listed at top candidates.

The table below displays the current odds to win the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award at Sportsbook.com, BetOnline and the Greek and will be continually updated throughout the season.

PlayerBetOnline (9/23)BetOnline (6/21)The Greek (6/21)Sportsbook.com (6/11)
Peyton Manning+300+350+350+350
Drew Brees+700+800+800+800
Russell Wilson+1000+2800+1200+1600
Aaron Rodgers+1200+700+800+800
Matt Ryan+1400+5000+2000+5000
Andrew Luck+1600+2000+1500+2500
Tom Brady+1600+1000+1000+1000
Philip Rivers+1600N/AN/A+10000
Nick Foles+2000+5000+2000+5000
Jay Cutler+2500+2500+2000+2500
Calvin Johnson+2500+2800+2000+2000
LeSean McCoy+2800+3500+2000+2500
Andy Dalton+3300N/A+5000+15000
Matthew Stafford+3300+5000+2000+5000
Julio Jones+4000N/A+7500+10000
Tony Romo+5000+6500+2500+5000
Cam Newton+5000+5000+2000+5000
Ben Roethlisberger+5000N/A+1500+10000
Dez Bryant+6600+5000+5000+3000
Colin Kaepernick+6600+2500+1200+2000
Eli Manning+15000+6500+3000+5000
AJ GreenN/AN/A+7500+7500
Jimmy GrahamN/AN/A+5000+7500
Marshawn LynchN/AN/A+2000+7500
Josh McCownN/AN/AN/A+10000
Robert Griffin IIIN/A+3000+2000+2500
Adrian PetersonN/A+3000+1500+2500
Jamaal CharlesN/A+6500+5000+10000
Rob GronkowskiN/AN/AN/A+10000
Matt SchaubN/AN/AN/A+10000
Matt ForteN/AN/A+3000+7500
Antonio BrownN/AN/AN/A+10000
Alshon JeffreyN/AN/AN/A+10000
Larry FitzgeraldN/AN/A+7500+10000
Joe FlaccoN/AN/A+2000+10000
Alex SmithN/AN/AN/A+10000
Arian FosterN/AN/A+5000+15000
Alfred MorrisN/AN/AN/A+15000
Demaryius ThomasN/AN/AN/A+7500
Montee BallN/AN/AN/A+20000
Zac StacyN/AN/AN/A+20000
Giovani BernardN/AN/AN/A+20000
CJ SpillerN/AN/A+5000+20000
Ryan MathewsN/AN/AN/A+20000
Knowshon MorenoN/AN/AN/A+25000
Frank GoreN/AN/AN/A+25000
DeMarco MurrayN/AN/AN/A+30000
Ray RiceN/AN/AN/A+30000
Johnny ManzielN/AN/AN/A+50000
Cecil Shorts IIIN/AN/AN/A+50000
Eddie LacyN/AN/A+5000+10000

Right now BetOnline is the only prominent sportsbook offering updated MVP futures and perhaps the most interesting player listed is Chargers QB Philip Rivers. Although Sportsbook.com listed the veteran signal caller at +10000 to win the MVP before the season, BetOnline did not offer odds at that time. However, after a 2-1 start (including an upset of the defending champion Seahawks) Rivers is currently tied with Patriots QB Tom Brady and Colts QB Andrew Luck for the 6th best odds at +1600.

Who do you like to win the award? Will Manning be able to repeat as MVP? Are any long shots being undervalued? Please leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

[adrotate group=”4″]

David Solar

David was the Content Manager at Sports Insights. He has since moved on to greener pastures.

No Comments
Post a Comment