2016 WNBA MVP Odds

Last season Elena Delle Donne led the Chicago Sky to a 21-13 record and the number two seed in the Eastern Conference playoffs en route to winning the WNBA Most Valuable Player Award. The 6’5″ guard/forward led the league in scoring (23.4 PPG) and free-throw shooting (95%) while ranking third in rebounding (8.4 RPG) and blocks (2.06 BPG).

[ View the latest odds and public betting percentages on our free WNBA odds page ]

A three-time All-Star selection, Delle Donne received 38 of 39 first-place votes with the one dissenting voter opting for Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore. Moore, who was the 2014 MVP Award recipient, averaged 20.6 points, 6.7 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game last season.

Although we were unable to find historical odds, the table below displays all nineteen award winners since the league’s inception in 1997.

Year Player Team
2015 Elena Delle Donne Chicago Sky
2014 Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx
2013 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
2012 Tina Charles Connecticut Sun
2011 Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever
2010 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2009 Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury
2008 Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks
2007 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2006 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2005 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
2004 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2003 Lauren Jackson Seattle Storm
2002 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
2001 Lisa Leslie Los Angeles Sparks
2000 Sheryl Swoopes Houston Comets
1999 Yolanda Griffith Sacramento Monarchs
1998 Cynthia Cooper Houston Comets
1997 Cynthia Cooper Houston Comets

The 2016 WNBA season tipped off Saturday, May 14 and the Irish bookmaker Paddy Power became the first sportsbook to post MVP odds. Delle Donne (+350) opened as the favorite to repeat with Maya Moore and Diana Taurasi (+500) right on her heels.

The table below examines how the WNBA MVP odds have fluctuated at Paddy Power.

Player (Team) Paddy Power (6/15) Paddy Power (6/1) Paddy Power (5/16)
Maya Moore (MIN) +350 +350 +500
Candace Parker (LAS) +450 +450 +1700
Elena Della Donne (CHI) +500 +400 +350
Diana Taurasi (PHO) +550 +650 +500
Breanna Stewart (SEA) +750 +900 +1100
Tina Charles (NYL) +900 +1000 +900
Brittney Griner (PHO) +1100 +900 +600
Angel McCoughtry (ATL) +1100 +1300 +1100
Kayla McBride (SAN) +1700 +2000 +2000
Skylar Diggins (DAL) +1800 +1400 +1100
Tamika Catchings (IND) +2200 +2200 +1400
DeWanna Bonner (PHO) +2200 +2200 +2000
Chiney Ogwumike (CON) +4000 +4000 +3500
Nneka Ogwumike (LAS) +4000 +4000 +3500

The section below was published on May 16, 2016

One player that could be offering value is Sparks star Candace Parker (+1700). Last year the 6’4″ forward opted to sit out for the first half of the season, but returned with a vengeance down the stretch. In 16 games Parker averaged 19.4 points, 10.1 rebounds and 6.3 assists and helping her team bounce back from one of the worst starts in franchise history. The Sparks, who started the season with a 3-15 record, went 11-5 following Parker’s return.

The Sparks (+1500) opened with the sixth-worst odds of winning the WNBA Championship this season; however, Parker should once again post impressive numbers. Parker’s a two-time MVP winner (2008, 2013), but it seems like oddsmakers are underestimating her value after last season’s brief layoff.

Will Elena Delle Donne repeat as MVP? Do you think any players are offering value? Please leave any thoughts in the comment section below.

Have any questions for the staff at Sports Insights? Utilize our live chat to speak with a customer service representative or e-mail us at help@sportsinsights.com.

The following two tabs change content below.

David Solar

David Solar is the Content Manager at Sports Insights. He specializes in sports betting analytics and creating data-driven betting systems. He can be reached directly at david@sportsinsights.com or on twitter at @TheDavidSolar.

Latest posts by David Solar (see all)

No Comments Permalink

Say something

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with a grey bar.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>